Remove "Offline Files" when the server is no longer available?
I used to have my "My Documents" folder on a server named "mark". So I mapped a drive to that volume from my laptop and set it to "Make available offline" so that I'd have my documents with me when I go to say, BORDERS.
Well now the server is no longer named 'mark', it's named 'desktop'. I deleted the '\\mark\my documents' folder in explorer and mapped the new '\\desktop\my documents' folder and made it available offline.
However, Windows keeps trying to synchronize '\\mark\my documents\' even though it no longer exists, and I can't uncheck 'make available offline' for that folder because it no longer exists (not displayed in explorer, only shows up in the "Offline Files" dialogue, which won't allow me to remove it).
Anybody ever have this problem? WTF?
Yes, I think I had to go fix the domain security policy, switching off redirection for My Documents and then switching it back on again. This wasn't so bad there's only a few users on the domain, most likely be worse for you, even if you could convince them to do it.
Alternatively, bring up some machine as that old name and then move it.
Oh, if its an individual user redirecting My Documents then either bring up the old name or hack the registry. Check the tree at Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders
Don't blame me if it all goes tits up though.
This happened to me - but I managed to cure it by opening Windows Explorer, Tools menu, Synchronise, and then un-ticking the old share name.
YMMV, of course, and apologies if you've already tried this...
January 10th, 2006
Thanks. Yeah I've tried that and it keeps resurfacing. I don't get it.